فقدان السمع في أذن واحدة​

هل تعاني من فقدان سمع كبير في أذن واحدة؟ هل تشعر بأنك لا تستطيع تحديد المكان الذي تأتي منه الأصوات؟

هل أنت قادر على فهم المحادثات الفردية في بيئة هادئة، ولكن مع وجود ضوضاء في الخلفية لا تستطيع متابعة الحديث؟

لست وحدك.​ فقدان السمع في أذن واحدة فقط- والمعروف باسم صمم في أذن واحدة أو صمم أحادي الجانب - أمر شائع بشكل مدهش.​

إذا تأثر تواصلك مع أسرتك وأصدقائك بسبب فقدان السمع في أذن واحدة، فلا تفقد الأمل. هناك حل جديد للمساعدة في استعادة قدرتك على السمع بكلتا الأذنين.​

"السمع بأذن واحدة فقط يشبه الحياة بالأبيض والأسود، دون معرفة وجود ألوان أخرى."​

صمم في أذن واحدة

عبء
الصمم في أذن واحدة

غالبًا ما يستطيع الأشخاص المصابون بالصمم في أذن واحدة متابعة المحادثات في البيئات الهادئة. وقد يعطي هذا انطباعًا لأصدقائك وأسرتك بأن فقدان السمع المصاب به مشكلة بسيطة فحسب. لكن الصمم في أذن واحدة له تأثير كبير على جودة حياتك ويجب الإقرار بأنه عبء حقيقي.

الاستماع بأذن واحدة فقط يتطلب الكثير من الجهد العقلي لفصل ما تريد سماعه عن ضوضاء الخلفية. لا يمكنك معرفة مصدر الأصوات، مما قد يجعلك تشعر بالارتباك والتعب.

قد يجعلك هذا تجاهد كي تتمكن من متابعة المحادثات في العمل، أو الاضطرار دائمًا إلى أن تدير أذنك السليمة تجاه صديقك كي تفهمه، أو قد يعتريك القلق من أنك لن تلاحظ الأصوات التحذيرية المفاجئة عند عبور الشارع.



لماذا يعتبر ضعف السمع في أذن واحدة عبئًا؟

 

  • القلق في الأماكن الصاخبة
  • تأثير سلبي على العلاقات
  • صعوبات في مكان العمل أو اللقاءات الاجتماعية
  • قلق من فقدان السمع في الأذن السليمة
  • صعوبة في متابعة المحادثات الجماعية
  • لا تستطيع تحديد مصدر الأصوات
  • تحتاج إلى زيادة الجهد العقلي للاستماع
  • الإرهاق من الجهد المبذول في الاستماع


حتى مع وجود "أذن واحدة سليمة"، فإن الحياة اليومية مع الإصابة بصمم في أذن واحدة قد تكون مرهقة جدًا. فقدان السمع لا يجعل التواصل صعبًا فحسب، بل يضع عبئًا كبيرًا على علاقاتك الشخصية. غالبًا ما ينغلق الأشخاص الذين يعانون من فقدان السمع عن أصدقائهم وعائلاتهم ويتجنبون التفاعل الاجتماعي.

إذا وجدت حياتك اليومية وعملك وعلاقاتك تتأثر بفقدان السمع الخاص الذي أصبت به، فلا تفقد الأمل. هناك خيار علاجي فعال ومعتمد من إدارة الغذاء والدواء الأمريكية (FDA) للمساعدة في استعادة قدرتك على السمع بكلتا الأذنين.

صمم في أذن واحدة

استعادة السمع بكلتا الأذنين

لماذا يكون للسمع بكلتا الأذنين أهمية كبيرة؟ في السمع الطبيعي، نسمع الأصوات باستخدام أذنين منفصلتين- وهو ما يُعرف باسم السمع بكلتا الأذنين.

تقوم أدمغتنا بمقارنة هاتين الإشارتين الصوتيتين المنفصلتين وتفسيرهما لتحقق سمع ثلاثي الأبعاد. وهذا مهم، لأنه يتيح للعقل التركيز بفعالية على ما نريد سماعه مع حجب ضوضاء الخلفية.

إذا فُقِدَ السمع في أذن واحدة، فإن كل هذه الأصوات تصبح "مشوهة". لذلك فإن الصمم في أذن واحدة يجعل السمع صعبًا للغاية في العديد من المواقف.

السمع بأذن واحدة

السمع بكلتا الأذنين

السمع بأذن واحدة وبكلتا الأذنين

 

السمع بكلتا الأذنين والصمم في أذن واحدة (SSD)

إذا كنت قد بحثت بالفعل عن علاج للصمم في أذن واحدة، فقد يكون أخصائي السمع المتابع لك قد اقترح عليك تجربة سماعات الأذن CROS. ترسل سماعات الأذن CROS أصواتًا من ميكروفون في أذنك المصابة بالصمم إلى سماعة في الأذن السليمة.

يمكن الاستفادة منه في تقليل تأثير "ظل الرأس"، وذلك بدوره يجعلك تميز عددًا أكبر من الأصوات ويساعد على فهم الكلام. لكن في النهاية، لا تزال سماعات الأذن CROS تجمع جميع الأصوات في أذن واحدة ـــ خيار للسمع "بأذن واحدة". لهذا السبب حلول مشكلات السمع للأذن الواحدة مثل نظام CROS قد لا يقدم استفادة كافية لك.

لكن إذا كنت تستطيع استعادة السمع لكلتا الأذنين، فسيمكنك استعادة مزايا السمع بكلتا الأذنين. يقدم السمع بكلتا الأذنين إشارة صوت أفضل ومكتملة أكثر إلى الدماغ. وهذا معناه بذل مجهود أقل أثناء السمع. هذا يساعد المخ على استبعاد ضوضاء الخلفية والتركيز على المحادثات. ولأنك يمكنك السمع بكلتا الأذنين مرة أخرى، فإن ذلك سيساعدك على استعادة قدرتك على تمييز المكان الذي تصدر منه الأصوات.

 

مزايا السمع بكلتا الأذنين:

  • فهم الكلام بشكل أفضل في الضوضاء
  • بذل مجهود أقل بكثير أثناء السمع
  • تقليل العزلة الاجتماعية
  • تحسين جودة الحياة

قارن بين السمع بأذن واحدة والسمع بكلتا الأذنين من خلال محاكاة السمع ثلاثي الأبعاد لدينا.

صمم في أذن واحدة

زرعات القوقعة الإلكترونية فقدان السمع في أذن واحدة​

في حالة السمع الطبيعي، ينتقل الصوت من أذنك الخارجية إلى أذنك الداخلية، والتي تعرف بقوقعة الأذن. تحول القوقعة الموجات الصوتية إلى إشارات عصبية يستطيع المخ فهمها. لديك قوقعتان، واحدة لكل ناحية لتمييز الصوت في كل أذن.

ترسل القوقعة الموجودة في أذنك السليمة إشارات صوتية من خلال العصب السمعي إلى المخ. لكن ليس الأمر كذلك حاليًا في الأذن المصابة بالصمم، فالقوقعة في أذنك غير قادرة على معالجة هذه الأصوات. وهناك عدة أسباب لتلك الحالة، على سبيل المثال العدوى، أو مرض مينير، أوفقدان سمع مفاجئ لسبب غير معروف، أو عوامل وراثية.

لاستعادة قدرتك على السمع بكلتا الأذنين، تحتاج إلى استخدام كلتا  قوقعتي الأذن. ولحسن الحظ، هذا هو بالضبط ما تم تصميم زرعات قوقعة الأذن للقيام به.

تستخدم زرعة قوقعة الأذن نبضات كهربائية لتتخطى خلايا  الشعر التي لا تؤدي وظيفتها في قوقعة الأذن. في قوقعة الأذن، تتحول إشارات الزرعة إلى إشارات عصبية تنتقل عبر العصب السمعي إلى المخ، تمامًا مثل أذنك التي تسمع بها. ثم تنتقل الأصوات عبر مسارات السمع الطبيعية، ويتم دمج كلتا الأذنين على طول تلك المسارات، وصولاً إلى المخ.

يسمح ذلك لزرعة القوقعة الإلكترونية بإعادة القدرة السمعية إلى أذن مصابة بالصمم  - -مما يعيد إليك مزايا السمع بكلتا الأذنين.



فوائد السمع بكلتا الأذنين باستخدام زرعة القوقعة الإلكترونية من MED-EL 
فقدان السمع في أذن واحدة​:

 

  • سمع أفضل للكلام وسط الضوضاء
  • سهولة متابعة المحادثات الجماعية
  • سمع أفضل في الأماكن المزدحمة
  • تمييز المكان الذي تأتي منه الأصوات
  • جهد أقل للاستماع وبالتالي إرهاق أقل
  • تحسن في التفاعل الاجتماعي
  • تحسن ملحوظ في جودة الحياة


"لقد أحدث فارقًا كبيرًا في قدرته على تحديد الاتجاه الذي يصدر منه الصوت. وبعد أن كان لا يفهم الكلام بتاتًا في تلك الأذن أصبح يفهم الكلام بنسبة ٨٠% تقريبًا."

دكتور كيفين براون، بمركز UNC الطبي

صمم في أذن واحدة

إمكانية الحصول على زرعة قوقة الأذن الإلكترونية

هل تمثل زرعة القوقعة الإلكترونية من MED-EL خيارًا للتغلب على فقدان السمع الذي تعاني منه؟ بالنسبة إلى زرعة القوقعة الأذن للصمم في أذن واحدة، فهناك إرشادات للمساعدة في تحديد من يكون مرشحًا للحصول عليها. تختلف القدرة السمعية من شخص إلى آخر، لذلك يجب عليك استشارة أخصائي السمع لمعرفة ما إذا كنت مرشحًا.

سيتعين على أخصائي السمع اختبار عتبات السمع الخاصة بك ومدى فهم الكلام بأذنك المصابة بالصمم. قد تحتاج أيضًا إلى تجربة سماعات الأذن CROS أو أي نظام مشابه.

يُعرف فقدان السمع في إحدى الأذنين مع وجود سمع طبيعي في الأذن الأخرى باسم  الصمم في أذن واحدة أو فقدان السمع أحادي الجهة. إذا كنت تعاني من فقدان سمع عميق في أذن واحدة وفقدان سمع خفيف إلى متوسط الشدة في الأذن التي تسمع بها، يُعرف هذا بفقدان السمع غير المتماثل. يمكن أن تكون زرعات القوقعة الإلكترونية من MED-EL فعالة أيضًا في حالات  فقدان السمع غير المتماثل.

صمم في أذن واحدة

الخطوات التالية

ما الخطوات التالية من أجل الحصول على زرعة القوقعة الإلكترونية للصمم في أذن واحدة؟

  • أولًا، سيقوم أخصائي السمع والفريق الإكلينيكي بتحديد ما إذا كان خيار زرعة القوقعة الإلكترونية يناسب حالة فقدان السمع المصاب بها أم لا. إذا أردت المساعدة في العثور على أخصائي سمع في منطقتك، يرجى إعلامنا بذلك من خلال ملء نموذج التواصل بالأسفل.
  • إذا ثبت أن زرعة القوقعة الإلكترونية تناسبك، فالخطوة التالية هي الخضوع لجراحة زرع القوقعة الإلكترونية. وهي جراحة آمنة وروتينية تستغرق حوالي ساعة أو ساعتين. قد يطلب منك طبيبك المكوث بالمستشفى لمدة يوم أو يومين. وستعود إلى ممارسة روتين حياتك العادية بعد بضع أيام. 
  • ويمكن تنشيط الزرعة بعد مرور من أسبوعين إلى أربعة أسابيع بعد الزراعة. سيقوم أخصائي السمع المتابع لك ببرمجة زرعة القوقعة الإلكترونية لك وسيعلمك كيف تستخدم كل شيء. هذه أول مرة ستسمع باستخدام زرعتك الجديدة.
  • بعد تنشيطها، ستحتاج إلى أن تتعلم كيفية إدراك الأصوات التي تأتي من الأذن التي خضعت للزراعة. تدريبات الاستماع اليومية مهمة جدًا للمساعدة في الوصول إلى أقصى استفادة من الزرعة. يمكنك القيام بتدريبات إعادة التأهيل هذه إما مع أخصائي السمع أو في المنزل.

نحن متواجدون دائمًا معك

نحن نتفهم أن فقدان السمع قد يكون أمرًا صعبًا عليك وعلى أسرتك بأكملها. لذلك نحن ملتزمون بتوفير كل الدعم اللازم لك طوال رحلتك.

سيقدم أعضاء فريق التواصل المجتمعي لدينا إرشادات شخصية  خطوة بخطوة وسيجيبون على أي أسئلة لديك.

يمكننا مساعدتك في العثور على العيادات القريبة المتخصصة في زراعة القوقعة الإلكترونية. ويمكن أن يساعدك خبراؤنا على تلمس الطريق بين الأسئلة التي تدور حول تكاليف زرعة القوقعة الإلكترونية، والسداد، والتغطية التأمينية. سنوصلك بأشخاص حصلوا على زرعة قوقعة إلكترونية و نساعدك في العثور على فاعليات المجتمع المحلي حيث يمكنك معرفة المزيد عن الحياة اليومية مع استخدام زرعة القوقعة الإلكترونية.

أخبرنا كيف يمكننا مساعدتك خلال خطواتك التالية. سيقوم فريق الدعم المحلي بالتواصل معك شخصيًا للإجابة على أي أسئلة لديك. نحن نتطلع إلى تواصلك معنا.

حول شركة MED-EL

على مدى أكثر من ٢٥ عامًا ونحن نقوم في MED-EL بتحقيق الترابط بين العائلات من خلال الزرعات السمعية التي غيرت حياتهم. عندما شرع مؤسسو الشركة في عمل أول زرعة قوقعة إلكترونية حديثة، كان هدفهم هو التغلب على فقدان السمع بما يشكله من عائق أمام التواصل والتمتع بجودة الحياة. ولقد امتدت أسرتنا لتضم اليوم ما يربو عن ٢٠٠٠ موظف في أكثر من ١٢٠ دولة، وما زلنا نسترشد بالمبادئ الراسخة لمؤسسينا.

ولقد كنا دائمًا علماء في المقام الأول. منذ ما يقرب من ٤٠ عامًا، غيّر مؤسسا الشركة إنجبورج وإروين هوخماير العالم عندما اخترعا زرعة قوقعة الأذن الإلكترونية الدقيقة الحديثة متعددة القنوات. لطالما استلهمت MED-EL روح الريادة وشغف الاستكشاف منهما.

تضمن شبكة الدعم المخصصة لدينا والمتخصصون في الرعاية المحلية تقديم أفضل رعاية دائمًا لمتلقي الزرعة. وعندما نُنتج تقنية جديدة،نحرص على توافقها مع طرز الزرعات السابقة حتى تعم الاستفادة على الجميع. ومع MED-EL، يطمئن جميع متلقي زرعاتنا بأنه يمكنهم دائمًا الاعتماد علينا للحصول على سمع أفضل مدى الحياة.

عندما تكون مستعدًا لاتخاذ الخطوة التالية، سنرافقك في كل خطوة من الطريق.

Hearing Loss in
One Ear

Do you have significant hearing loss in one ear? Does it feel like you can’t tell where sounds are coming from?

Are you able to understand one-on-one conversations in quiet, but get lost in background noise?

You are not alone. Hearing loss in just one ear—known as unilateral hearing loss or single-sided deafness—is surprisingly common.

If your connection to your family and friends is being affected by single-sided deafness, don’t give up hope. There is a new option to help restore your ability to hear with both ears.

"Hearing with only one ear is like living in a black and white world, without knowing that somewhere else colors exist."

Single-Sided Deafness

Burden of Single-Sided
Deafness

Often, people with single-sided deafness can follow conversations in quiet settings. This can give your friends and family the impression that your hearing loss is only a minor issue. But single-sided deafness has a significant impact on your quality of life and should be recognized as a serious burden.

Listening with only one ear takes so much more mental effort to separate what you want to hear from background noise. You can’t tell where sounds are coming from, which can make you feel disoriented and overwhelmed.

This can leave you struggling to follow conversations at work, or always having to turn your hearing ear to understand a friend, or worrying that you won’t notice sudden warning noises when crossing the street.



Why is hearing loss in one ear such a burden?

 

  • Hard to follow group conversations
  • Can’t tell where sounds are coming from
  • More mental effort needed to listen
  • Exhaustion from listening effort
  • Anxiety in noisy places
  • Negative impact on relationships
  • Difficulties at work and social gatherings
  • Anxiety of losing hearing in good ear


Even with “one good ear,” everyday life with single-sided deafness can be exhausting. Hearing loss doesn’t just make communication difficult—it puts a significant burden on your personal relationships. Often, people with hearing loss withdraw from friends and family and avoid social interaction.

If you find your everyday life, your career, and your relationships are being affected by your hearing loss, don’t give up hope. There is an effective treatment option that is approved to help restore your ability to hear with both ears.

Single-Sided Deafness

Restoring Binaural Hearing

Why is hearing with both ears so important? In natural hearing, we hear sounds with two separate ears—known as binaural hearing.

Our brains compare and interpret these two separate sound signals to let us hear in 3D. This is important, because this lets our brains actively focus on what we want to hear while filtering out background noise.

If you take away hearing from one ear, all those sounds become “shapeless.” This is why single-sided deafness makes hearing so difficult in so many situations.

Binaural Hearing

Monaural Hearing

Binaural and Monaural Hearing

 

Binaural Hearing and Single-Sided Deafness (SSD)

If you’ve already sought treatment for single-sided deafness, your audiologist may have recommended trying CROS hearing aids. CROS hearing aids send sounds from a microphone in your deafened ear to a hearing aid in your hearing ear.

This can offer some benefit by reducing the “head shadow” effect, which can help you notice more sounds and help with speech understanding. But in the end, a CROS hearing aid is still combining all the sounds into one ear—a “monaural” option. This is why monaural solutions like a CROS system might not have provided enough benefit for you.

But if you can restore hearing to both ears, you can restore the benefits of binaural hearing. Hearing with both ears provides a better and more complete sound signal for the brain. This means less listening effort. It helps your brain filter out background noise and focus on conversations. And because you’re hearing with two ears again, it can help restore your ability to tell where sounds are coming from.

 

Benefits of hearing with both ears:

  • Significantly better speech understanding in noise
  • Much less listening effort
  • Reduced social isolation
  • Improved quality of life

Compare hearing with one ear and binaural hearing with our 3D hearing simulation

Single-Sided Deafness

Cochlear Implants for Single-Sided Deafness

In natural hearing, sounds travel from your outer ear to your inner ear, which is known as the cochlea. The cochlea turns sound waves into nerve signals that can be understood by the brain. You have two cochleae, one on each side to detect sounds for each ear.

In your hearing ear, your cochlea is sending sound signals through your auditory nerve to your brain. But right now in your deafened ear, your cochlea is not able to process these sounds. This can have many causes, such as an infection, Ménière’s disease, unknown sudden hearing loss, or genetic factors.

To restore your ability to hear with both ears, you need to use both of your cochleae. Thankfully, this is exactly what cochlear implants are designed to do.

A cochlear implant uses electrical pulses to bypass the non-working hair cells in your cochlea. In the cochlea, the implant signals are turned into nerve signals that travel through your auditory nerve to your brain, just like your hearing ear. The sounds then travel through the natural hearing pathways and both ears are combined along those pathways, all the way up to your brain.

This allows a cochlear implant to restore hearing ability to a deafened ear—which can restore the benefits of binaural hearing.



Benefits of binaural hearing with a MED-EL cochlear implant 
for single-sided deafness:

 

  • Better speech understanding in noise
  • Easier to follow group conversations
  • Better hearing in busy places
  • Recognize where sounds are coming from
  • Less listening effort and less fatigue
  • Improved social interaction
  • Significant improvement in quality of life


"It made a huge difference in his ability to localize the direction that sound is coming from. He went from no speech understanding to having a speech understanding of almost 80 percent in that ear."

Dr. Kevin Brown, UNC Medical Center

Single-Sided Deafness

Candidacy for Cochlear Implants

Is a MED-EL cochlear implant an option for your hearing loss? For a cochlear implant for single-sided deafness, there are candidacy guidelines to help identify who is a candidate. Every person’s hearing is different, so you should consult with your audiologist to find out if you’re a candidate.

Your audiologist will need to test your hearing thresholds and speech understanding with your deafened ear. You might also need to have experience trying a CROS hearing aid or similar system.

Hearing loss in one ear and normal hearing in the other ear is known as single-sided deafness or unilateral hearing loss. If you have profound hearing loss in one ear and mild to moderately severe hearing loss in your hearing ear, this is known as asymmetric hearing loss. MED-EL cochlear implants can also be effective for asymmetric hearing loss.

Single-Sided Deafness

The Next Steps

What are the next steps for getting a cochlear implant for single-sided deafness?

  • First, your audiologist and clinical team will need to determine if a cochlear implant is an option for your hearing loss. If you’d like help finding a cochlear implant audiologist near you, please let us know with the contact form below.
  • If a cochlear implant is the right solution, the next step is implantation. This is a safe and routine surgery that takes about an hour or two. Your doctor may have you stay at the hospital for a day or two. You should be back to your daily routine after a few days. 
  • About two to four weeks after implantation, the implant can be activated. Your cochlear implant audiologist will program the implant for you and show you how to use everything. This is the first time you will be hearing with your implant.
  • After activation, you will need to learn to understand sounds with your implanted ear. Daily listening exercises are very important to help maximize your benefit. These rehabilitation exercises can be done together with a hearing professional or at home.

Here With You

We understand that hearing loss can be difficult for you and your whole family. That’s why we are committed to supporting you on every step of your journey.

Our dedicated community outreach team members will personally provide step-by-step guidance and answer any questions you have.

We can help you find nearby clinics that specialize in cochlear implants. Our experts can help you navigate questions about cochlear implant costs, reimbursement, and insurance coverage. We’ll connect you with cochlear implant recipients and help you find local community events where you can learn more about what everyday life is like with a cochlear implant.

Let us know how we can help you as you take the next steps. Our local support team will get back to you personally to answer any questions you have. We look forward to hearing from you.

About MED-EL

At MED-EL, we’ve been connecting families with life-changing hearing implants for more than 25 years. When our founders set out to create the first modern cochlear implant, their goal was to overcome hearing loss as a barrier to communication and quality of life. Today we’ve grown to more than 2,000 employees covering over 120 countries, and we’re still guided by the steadfast principles of our founders.

We’ve always been scientists at heart. Nearly 40 years ago, our founders Ingeborg and Erwin Hochmair changed the world when they invented the modern microelectronic multichannel cochlear implant. Their pioneering spirit and passion for discovery has always defined MED-EL.

Our dedicated support network and local care specialists ensure our recipients are always well cared for. And when we create new technology, we make sure it’s compatible with earlier implants so that everyone can benefit. With MED-EL, our recipients know they can always count on us for a lifetime of better hearing.

When you’re ready to take the next step, we’ll be here with you every step of the way.